Second half comeback secures Schoolboys win

(Photo: Australian Schoolboys Rugby League Facebook)

A 26-point second half has helped the Australian Schoolboys to a 30-22 win over the Yorkshire Academy in Castleford.

Facing much stronger opposition than their first tour game, the tourists trailed 12-4 at half time, with Yorkshire extending their lead to 16-4 shortly after the break.

Winger Zac Cini scored his fifth and sixth tries of the tour to get the Australians back into the game, before hooker Ryan Gray dived over to give them their first lead.

Two minutes later, Yorkshire centre Jack Broadbent scored his second try of the match to level the scores once again.

The Schoolboys then completed the comeback and sealed victory with two tries in three minutes to centre Stephen Crichton and five-eighth Tommy Talau.

Ryan Gray, who started the match on the bench before being introduced in the second half, was named Man of the Match for the Australians, while five-eighth Callum McLelland was named Man of the Match for Yorkshire.

The Schoolboys third tour game will be against Lancashire Academy on Sunday 2 December, 12:30am (AEDT) at Manchester Regional Arena.

Australian Schoolboys 30 (Zac Cini 2, Stephen Crichton, Ryan Gray, Tommy Talau, Starford To’a tries; Stephen Crichton 3/6 goals) def. Yorkshire Academy 22 (Jack Broadbent 2, Tom Holroyd, Mikey Lewis tries; Mikey Lewis 2/2, Rowan Milnes 1/2 goals) at Mend-A-Hose Jungle. Man of the Match: Ryan Gray (Australia), Callum McLelland (Yorkshire).

Yorkshire Academy: Liam Whitton, Jack Croft, Jack Broadbent, Robbie Storey, Lewis Carr, Callum McLelland, Mikey Lewis, Tom Holroyd, Corey Johnson, Keelan Foster; Owen Trout, Joe Summers, Loui McConnell. Interchange: Jack Flynn, Jack Brown, Muizz Mustapha, Rowan Milnes, Tyler Dupree, Rory Nettleton. Coach: Luke Robinson.
Australian Schoolboys: Starford To’a, Zac Cini, Stephen Crichton, Timanu Alexander, Jason Saab, Tommy Talau, Tom Dearden, Sean Viavelata, Max Altus, Jayden Tanner, Hary Crocker, Matt Doorey, Matthew Dragisic. Interchange: Ryan Gray, Bradman Best, Penisimani Teaupa, Ratu Nanovo, Juwan Compain, Jock Madden, Fanitesi Niu, Jalal Bazzaz. Coach: Tony Adam.

Read more:—australian-schoolboys



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.