The New Zealand Rugby League has announced the draw for the inaugural NZRL National 20s competition.

The season is set to kick off on Saturday February 27, with the six teams competing over five weeks.

After each team has played each other once, the two top placed teams will meet in the final on April 2.

The six teams participating in the first National 20s season are:

  • Auckland Blue and Auckland White – representing the Auckland Rugby League; Akarana and Counties Manukau
  • Central Districts – including Manawatu, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay and Wellington
  • Northland – representing the Northland region
  • South Island – including Tasman, Canterbury, West Coast, Aoraki, Southland and Otago Districts, and,
  • Wai-Coa Bay – representing Waikato, Hauraki, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne and Coastline District

The new competition was announced in December. to help the growth and development opportunities for young players in New Zealand.

Along with the National 20s announcement, the NZRL also revealed that the National Youth Tournament will move to an under-16 and under-18 format (as opposed to under-15 and under-17), to better align itself with Australia’s New South Wales and Queensland competitions. In 2022, a NZRL under-19 team will also be entered into the NSW SG Ball Cup competition.

Click HERE to view the full 2021 NZRL National 20s draw

Read more:


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.