2019 Under-20 award winners

Blake Taaffe

NSWRL Brad Fittler Medal awards

  • Jersey Flegg Cup Player of the Year Charlie Staines (Penrith Panthers)
  • U20 Origin Player of the Year Spencer Leniu (Penrith Panthers)
  • U18 Origin Player of the Year Sione Fainu (Manly Sea Eagles)
  • U18 Women’s Origin Player of the Year Emily Curtain (Wests Tigers)
  • U16 Origin Player of the Year Brandon Tumeth (Balmain Tigers)
  • KARI Indigenous Achievement Award Jordan Wilson (NSW U16 Indigenous, West Belconnen)

Queensland Rugby League awards

  • Hastings Deering Colts Player of the Year Tom McGrath (Northern Pride)
  • Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year Josh James (Norths Devils), Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Townsville Blackhawks)

U20 Grand Final Man of the Match awards

  • Jersey Flegg Cup Blake Taaffe (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  • Hastings Deering Colts Tyson Smoothy (Sunshine Coast Falcons)

Jersey Flegg Cup – Club awards

Canberra Raiders

  • Player of the Year Harley Smith Shields
  • Coaches Award Kai O’Donnell
  • Gordon McLucas Junior Rep Player of the Year Darby Medlyn

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

  • Hazem El Masri Player of the Year Javvier Pitovao

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

  • Gavin Miller Player of the Year Tom Hazelton
  • Greg Pierce Players’ Player Monty Raper
  • Wellbeing and Education Excellence Award Jack Boyling

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

  • Russ Bull Best & Fairest Jacob Sykes
  • Players’ Player Keith Titmuss

Newcastle Knights

  • Player of the Year Luke Huth

North Sydney Bears

  • Best & Fairest Max Altus
  • Players’ Player Luke Hodge
  • Best Back Connor Garrety
  • Best Forward Lennox Whittaker
  • Coaches Award Lekendrick Masoe
  • Supporters Player of the Year Corey Fenning

Parramatta Eels

  • Steve Ella Player of the Year Vea Tapaatoutai
  • Brett Kenny Coaches Award Bailey Biondi-Odo

Penrith Panthers

  • Player of the Year Charlie Staines
  • Junior Education Award Brendan Hands

South Sydney Rabbitohs

  • Player of the Year Blake Taaffe
  • Players’ Player Ky Rodwell

St George Illawarra Dragons

  • Paul McGregor Trophy Cody Ramsey

Sydney Roosters

  • Arthur Beetson Medal Freddy Lussick
  • Chris Sykes Junior Rep Player of the Year Michael Abdow

Victoria Thunderbolts

  • Darren Bell Medal Trent Toelau


  • Sonny Fai Medal Paul Turner
  • Rookie of the Year Sione Moala
  • Clubman of the Year Wesley Veikoso

Wests Tigers

  • Player of the Year Felix Smith
  • Players’ Player Curtis Wilson

Tyson Smoothy

Hastings Deering Colts – Club awards

Burleigh Bears

  • Best & Fairest Jayden Campbell
  • Players’ Player Shallin Fuller
  • Coaches Award Lochlyn Sheldon

CQ Capras

  • Best & Fairest Blake Moore
  • Players’ Player Ethan Jackson
  • Coach’s Choice Brodee Barrett
  • Best Back Harrison McIndoe
  • Best Forward Zantana Tupuono-Pomare

Easts Tigers

  • Beat & Fairest Dray Ngatuere-Wroe
  • Players’ Player Solomona Faataape
  • Best Back Luke Self
  • Most Improved Harrison Cannon

Ipswich Jets

  • Players’ Player Tyler Coburn
  • Coaches MVP Wilson Malaesilia
  • Best Back Josh McCarroll
  • Best Forward Sione Foueti
  • Rookie of the Year Josh Henderson

Mackay Cutters

  • Player of the Year Garrett Smith
  • Players’ Player Aidan Beard

Northern Pride

  • Player of the Year Tom McGrath
  • Players’ Player Beau Berg
  • Coaches Award Simon Bevan, Daniel Lazarus
  • Best Back Joshtel Charlie
  • Best Forward Beau Berg

Norths Devils

  • Player of the Year Sosefo Filipine
  • Players’ Player Sosefo Filipine

Redcliffe Dolphins

  • Best & Fairest Patrick O’Callaghan
  • Best Back Will Cahill
  • Dick Turner Trophy (Best Local Junior) Kyle Barnwell

Souths Logan Magpies

  • Sel Deed Memorial Player of the Year Blake Scott
  • Bill Tyquin Most Valuable Vaea Vaea
  • Mal Meninga Best Back Creedence Toia
  • Greg Veivers Best Forward Shaun Anderson

Sunshine Coast Falcons

  • Player of the Year Tyson Smoothy
  • Players’ Player Tyson Smoothy
  • Best Back Jack Wright
  • Best Forward Wyatt Reynolds

Townsville Blackhawks

  • Player of the Year Adam Cook
  • Players’ Player Curtis Dempsey
  • Best Back Michael Bell
  • Best Forward Wiremu Greig

Tweed Heads Seagulls

  • Players’ Player Ben Thomas
  • Coaches Award Callum Boomer

Western Mustangs

  • Player of the Year Blake Cullen
  • Players’ Player Austin Jennings
  • Best Back Laurie Jocumsen
  • Best Forward Liam Short
  • Best Clubman Zac Stevens
  • Most Improved Jackson Mladenovic

Wynnum Manly Seagulls

  • Player of the Year Jacson Lott
  • Players’ Player Nofoasa Malutoa

Categories: Hastings Deering Colts, Jersey Flegg, U20


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.