Norths Devils have won the inaugural Hastings Deering Colts premiership after defeating Townsville 20-16 in the Grand Final.

The Devils raced out to a 16-0 lead before the Blackhawks clawed themselves back into the game.

Norths’ defensive line was near impenetrable in the second half, holding out numerous Townsville raids, before fullback David Fauid scored late to seal the result.

Devils’s second rower Nesta Watene, who scored his side’s second try, was named Man of the Match for his efforts.

Norths Devil 20 (David Fauid, Liam Horne, Joe McGuire, Nesta Watene tries; Gerome Burns 2 goals) def. Townsville Blackhawks 16 (Ben Condon, Duarne Dempsey, Tom McCagh tries; Adam Cook 2 goals) at Suncorp Stadium.

Read more:


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.