Ipswich State High – 2022 NRL Schoolboy Cup winners (Photo: David Clark)

Ipswich State High School have won their first NRL Schoolboy Cup after defeating Patrician Brothers’ College Fairfield 32-6 on Wednesday.

It was the first time the school had even made the final and they capped off a fairytale undefeated season with a dominant win at Redcliffe.

With no national finals held in 2020 and 2021, this was the first time national champions had been crowned in three years.

The victory also makes it four straight wins for Queensland schools in national finals.

After the game, Ipswich’s Australian Schoolboys hooker and recent Melbourne Storm signing Gabriel Satrick was awarded the prestigious Peter Sterling Medal for player of the competition.

Ipswich State High 32 (Jalen Afamasaga, Tre Fotu, Thomas Luhrman, Anton Naiyep, Gabriel Satrick tries; James Frazer 6 goals) def. Patrician Brothers’ Faifield 6 (Yehya Ayache try; Tajh Colquhoun goal) at Moreton Daily Stadium. Referee: C Kwik. Half time: Ipswich 10-0.

Full team lists and scorers



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.