Palm Beach Currumbin State High have won the 2021 Phil Hall Cup after a comprehensive 62-0 win over St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon.

Looking to avenge their loss in last year’s Queensland state final, PBC were unstoppable at Redcliffe’s Moreton Daily Stadium.

Coming up against a side featuring four Australian Schoolboys and a number of players from the Tweed Seagulls’ successful Mal Meninga Cup side, it was always going to be a tough ask for St Brendan’s.

The Reds ran in six first half tries, which included a hat trick to star centre Deine Mariner, who St Brendan’s had no answer for.

Five-eighth Michael Roberts was also heavily involved, having a hand in three of the tries.

PBC wasted no time building on their 30-0 half time lead, with hooker Oskar Bryant scoring from dummy half after two minutes after the break.

Another dummy half try, this time from Roberts, and an 80-metre kick return try from fullback Keano Kini extended the lead to 44.

Reds’ captain Tom Weaver set up second rower Ryan Foran for a try not long after before winger Jett Forbes crossed for his third and fourth of the game in quick succession, both of which were assisted by Mariner.

Roberts ended the dominant performance with an intercept try in the final seconds, his side’s 13th four-pointer of the game.

Palm Beach Currumbin SHS 62 (Jett Forbes 4, Deine Mariner 3, Keano Kini 2, Michael Roberts 2, Oskar Bryant, Ryan Foran tries; Tom Weaver 4, Michael Robers goals) def St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon 0 at Moreton Daily Stadium. Referee: Nick McEwen.

Team lists
Palm Beach Currumbin SHS: 1 Keano Kini, 2 Hunter Ploegsma, 3 Reef Sommerville, 4 Deine Mariner, 5 Jett Forbes, 6 Michael Roberts, 7 Tom Weaver (c), 8 Kaden Somerville, 9 Oskar Bryant, 10 Jack Cullen, 11 Brock Priestley, 12 Ryan Foran, 13 Jayden Wright. Int: 14 Tanu Nona, 15 Bailey Martin, 16 Reico Ratana, 17 Isaiah Scanlan. Coach: Tim Maccan.

St Brendan’s College: 1 Matthew Hill, 2 Kongasau Nona, 3 Blayden Dodd, 4 Blake Anders, 5 Mackenzi Nixon, 6 Jackson Miller, 7 Owen Pattie (c), 8 Tane Kiriona, 9 Quinn Stover, 10 Brock Hinds, 11 Benjamin Charles, 12 Kealhan O’Brien, 13 Noah Corcoran. Int: 14 Hoani Harris, 15 Filipe Buli, 16 Harrison Gray, 17 Marley Wosomo. Coach: Scott Minto.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.