QRL Sapphires win U19 National Championship

The QRL Sapphires are the inaugural U19 Women’s National Champions after defeating the QRL Rubys at Moreton Daily Stadium.

NSW City and NSWRL Country played out an 8-all draw in their 3rd place playoff game, while Northern Territory and Western Australia also picked up wins on the final day of the competition.

QRL Rubys’ lock Tiana Raftstrand-Smith was awarded the Tahnee Norris Medal for Player of the Championship.

Final day results
Championship final

QRL Sapphires 16 (Keilee Joseph 2, Baylee Davies, Tiamo Williams tries) def. QRL Rubys 4 (Tyesha Mikaio try).

3rd place playoff
NSWRL City 8 (Andie Robinson, Leilani Wilson tries) def. NSWRL Country 8 (Sophie Clancy, Matilda Jones tries).

5th place playoff
Northern Territory 10 (Rease Casey, Elisa Niki tries; Rease Casey goal) def. Victoria 4 (Ariana Matue try).

7th place playoff
Western Australia 40 (Brooklyn Joyce 2, Naomi Kamizona-Heke 2, Ariana Ruru-Hinaki, Brianna Young, Georgia Midson, Kyarn Paekau tries; Tiana Graham 3, Nicole Ledington goals) def. South Australia 0.

Categories: U19, Womens


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.