Central Districts upset Auckland Blue in NZ 20s final

Central Districts have upset the previously undefeated Auckland Blue 18-14 to win the inaugural NZRL National 20s competition.

The Central Districts side trailed 10-0 at half time before running in three straight tries to take the lead.

Auckland Blue crossed in the final minute to give themselves one last shot but could not go the length of the field off the kick off.

Following the game the Central Districts were awarded with the newly named Ruben Wiki Cup.

Central Districts second rower Junior Te Foto was named MVP of the final, while Auckland Blue second rower Zyon Maiu’u was named MVP of the competition after a dominant tournament.

Central Districts 18 (Herman Seumanufagai, Wyatt So’otaga, Lennix Tovo tries; Brooklyn Herewini 3 goals) def. Auckland Blue 14 (Viliami Finau, Jeremiah Schuster, Soakai Taufa tries; Caleb Laiman goal) at Opaheke Sports Park.

Pirtek Team of the Year
Mapu Uasi (South Island)
Ali Leiataua (Auckland Blue)
Sala Vaifale (South Island)
Jeremiah Schuster (Auckland Blue)
Albert Fifita (Auckland Blue)
Xavier Mitchell-Winsor (Waicoa Bay)
Doux Kauhiva (Auckland White)
George Faaiva (South Island)
Stanley Iongi (Auckland Blue)
Hiraka Wanakore (Central Districts)
Zyon Maiu’u (Auckland Blue)
Junior Te Foto (Central Districts)
Elam Payne (Auckland White)
Sincere Harraway (South Island)
Kyle Amer (South Island)
Cail Terry (Central Districts)
Eroni Biukoto (Northland)
Caleb Pese (South Island)

Categories: NZRL National 20s, U20


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.