2018 NRL Schoolboy Cup champions – Palm Beach Currumbin State High (Photo: NRL Schoolboy Cup)

Palm Beach Currumbin State High have recorded their third national championship after defeating Patrician Brothers’ College Blacktown 20-12 in the NRL Schoolboy Cup final.

The Reds got off to a strong start with a double to winger Ryan Garner and a solo effort try by Tom Dearden giving them a 14-0 lead.

Patrician Brothers then surged back into the game in the second thanks to tries to Panthers’ duo Stephen Crichton and Spencer Leniu, who have both been named to play in this weekend’s Jersey Flegg Cup Grand Final.

Holding onto a two-point, Palm Beach Currumbin crossed through centre Will Evans to give them an insurmountable lead.

Evans was named Man of the Match, while his halfback and captain Dearden was awarded the prestigious Peter Sterling Medal for player of the competition.

Palm Beach Currumbin, who were the first Queensland school to win the competition, last won the title in 2008.

Palm Beach Currumbin SHS 20 (Ryan Garner 2, Tom Dearden, Will Evans tries; Toby Sexton 2 goals) def. Patrician Brothers’ College Blacktown 12 (Stephen Crichton, Spencer Leniu tries; Stephen Crichton 2 goals) at Dolphin Stadium, Redcliffe.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.