2020 Schoolboy Cup

The 2020 Schoolboy Cup, known as the NRL Schoolboy Cup, was the 46th staging of Australia’s premier secondary schools competition.

For the first time in it’s history, no national champion was crowned due to the COVID-19 pandemic and border restrictions.

The Northern Conference (Queensland) was split into two pools – South East Queensland, who played for the Allan Langer Trophy, and North Queensland, who played for the Aaron Payne Cup. The winners of each pool then met in the state final.

The Southern Conference (ACT and NSW) returned to a single elimination knockout format, with 16 schools competing. No Victorian schools took part in 2020, with St Edward’s College Gosford, Chifley College Mt Druitt and Patrician Brothers’ College Fairfield taking their places.