The 2016 Schoolboy Cup, known as the GIO Schoolboy Cup, was the 42nd staging of Australia’s premier secondary schools competition.

2016 saw a change in format in which the Northern Conference (Queensland) champions would play the Southern Conference (ACT, NSW and Victoria) champions in the final.

The Southern Conference featured 16 teams, split into four pools and playing each other once. Bass High, Holy Cross College Ryde and St Dominic’s College Penrith returned, while St Francis Xavier’s College Hamilton participated for the first time.

On 14 September, Westfields Sports High defeated Keebra Park State High in the final to win their first Schoolboy Cup.