The 2002 Schoolboy Cup, known as the Nutri-Grain Cup, was the 28th staging of Australia’s premier secondary schools competition.

2002 marked the first time a New Zealand school was invited into the competition, with St Paul’s College Auckland making it all the way to the quarter finals.

Following the regional qualifiers, the competition was split into two tiers. Tier B featured the regional qualifiers from NSW, ACT and New Zealand in a knockout format with the four remaining schools moving into Tier A. Tier A featured the final 16 schools – the top eight NSW/ACT schools, the four Tier B qualifiers and the four Queensland qualifiers.

On 21 September, Wavell State High defeated Terra Sancta College in the final to become just the second Queensland school to win the cup.