The Colts competition, currently known as the Hastings Deering Colts due to sponsorship, was announced in October 2017 by the Queensland Rugby League, following the demise of the National Youth Competition (NYC).

Featuring teams from throughout the state, the under-20 competition would run alongside the senior Queensland Cup and be played over a full season.

Prior to this, the QRL ran the FOGS Colts Challenge from 1986 to 2017, an under-20 competition which only featured teams from south east Queensland. In preparation for the under-20 overhaul in 2018, the QRL ran the FOGS Cup in 2017, a nine-week competition featuring all 15 teams would play in the inaugural statewide league.

In 2018, the Hastings Deering Colts was held for the first time featuring 15 teams – 13 from Queensland and one each from Victoria (Victoria Thunderbolts) and New South South Wales (Tweed Heads Seagulls). The inaugural premiers were the Norths Devils, who defeated the Townsville Blackhawks in the Grand Final.

In 2019, the Thunderbolts left the competition, joining the NSWRL’s Jersey Flegg Cup. The Sunshine Coast Falcons were crowned that season’s premiers, defeating the Wynnum Manly Seagulls in the Grand Final.

In 2020, the competition was cancelled after just one round due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Australia.

The competition returned in 2021, moving to an under-21 format.

List of premiers

Year Premiers
2018 Norths Devils
2019 Sunshine Coast Falcons
2020 Season cancelled
2021 Wynnum Manly Seagulls